Emerging Technologies: Design Thinking with a MakerSpace

For this artifact, we were instructed to research an emergent technology in education.  I began by reading over the Horizon Report (2015).  The emerging technology I became most interested in bringing to my classroom was a MakerSpace.  The Horizon Report states, “Schools are turning to makerspaces to facilitate activities that inspire confidence in young learners, and help them acquire entrepreneurial skills that are immediately applicable in the real world.”(39). The book Worlds of Making by Laura Fleming had me thinking about adding a MakerSpace to my classroom when I read it earlier this summer. I want to integrate the Makerspace into our curriculum through a process called Design Thinking.  

This year my science classes will use the process of design thinking throughout their studies of physical science and biology. Design Thinking is a process of creating new and innovative ideas to help solve real-world problems. One of the many benefits of design thinking is that it puts the learner at the center of the learning. I will use the model of the Launch Cycle created by A.J. Juliani and John Spencer along with a MakerSpace to guide my students through the process.

I also want to guide my students to understand that literacy, collaboration, and innovation are inextricably intertwined.  We will kick of the year by reading two children’s books, The Most Magnificent Thing by Ashley Spires and What Do You Do with an Idea? by Kobi Yamada.

Through this artifact, we were also instructed to show how the SAMR model of technology integration would be used.  The SAMR model, created by Dr. Ruben Puentedura, measures the level of student engagement as emerging technologies are used in the classroom. A student’s involvement with a makerspace can range from the modification to the redefinition levels of SAMR as the students have hands-on experiences and become creators rather than consumers of ideas.

Attached to this post is my artifact in the form of a Powerpoint presentation.  I had originally wanted to use Google Slides as I love the ease and convenience of sharing Google Slide presentations online.  Unfortunately, Google Slides does not allow for slide narration, a downside I hope they will fix in the near future.  As you watch the presentation, you will need to click through the slides, however the narrations (not all slides have narration) will play automatically.  There are also links to further information related to my project on some of the slides. I really enjoyed creating this artifact as it allowed me to plan how to incorporate the Launch Cycle and an Makerspace into my curriculum.

https://1drv.ms/p/s!AhPd2hGHWfG4gUGEwNiAdObRh466

Resources:

Design Thinking for Educators. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.designthinkingforeducators.com/

Fleming, L. (2015). Worlds of making: Best practices for establishing a makerspace for your school. Corwin: A Sage Company.

Riddle, T. (2016, February 3). Improving schools through design thinking. Retrieved July 27, 2016, from http://www.edutopia.org/blog/improving-schools-through-design-thinking-thomas-riddle

Spencer, J., & Juliani, A. J. (2016). LAUNCH: Using design thinking to boost creativity and bring out the maker in every student. Dave Burgess Consulting, Inc.

Spires, A. (2014). Most Magnificent Thing, The. Kids Can Press Ltd.

Yamada, K. (2014). What Do You Do with an Idea? Compendium Incorporated.

 

Leave a Reply

